team NFL

Minnesota Vikings


More About Minnesota Vikings

The Minnesota Vikings are a professional American Football (AF) team based in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The Vikings joined the NFL as an expansion team in 1 9 6 0, and first took the field for the 1 9 6 1 season. The team competes in the NFC North division.

Established: January 28, 1960, 58 years ago
First season: 1961
Play in the USA: Bank Stadium, Minneapolis, Minnesota
Headquartered: TCO Performance Center, Eagan, Minnesota
Logo: Wordmark
Conference Affiliations
National Football League: 1961–present
Western Conference: 1961–1969
Central Division: 1967–1969
National Football Conference: 1970–present
NFC Central: 1970–2001
NFC North: 2002–present
Current uniform
Team colors: Purple, gold, white
Fight song: Skol, Vikings
Mascot: Viktor the Viking
Owner: Zygi Wilf
Chairman: Zygi Wilf
President: Mark Wilf
General Manager: Rick Spielman
Head coach: Mike Zimmer
Team history
Minnesota Vikings: 1961–present
Team nicknames
The Vikes
The Purple People Eaters
The Purple and Gold
League championships
NFL Championships: 1970 AFL–NFL merger
Conference championships
NFL Western: 1969
NFC: 1973-1974, 1976
Division championships
NFL Central: 1968-69
NFC Central: 1970-1971, 1973-1978, 80, 89, 92, 94, 98, 2000
NFC North: 2008-2009, 2015, 2017
Playoff appearances
NFL: 1968-1971, 1973-1978, 80, 82, 1987-1989, 1992-1994, 1996-2000, 2004, 2008-2009, 2012, 2015, 2017
Home fields
Metropolitan Stadium: 1961–1981
Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 1982–2013
TCF Bank Stadium: 2014–2015
U.S. Bank Stadium: 2016–present
Social Media: Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Google+